Growing up in the era BEFORE Wikipedia meant it was very difficult to get behind-the-scenes info.  I used to buy Starlog magazine and that’s how I picked up a fair amount of info about the creative process.  When it came to music, if you didn’t belong to a fanclub or hang around people who found things out via word-of-mouth, you wouldn’t know much beyond what was put in the liner-notes or what the bandmembers may have said in an interview somewhere.  But for the most part, people were left to create their own connections.

When I first picked up Pink Floyd’s Meddle album it was the mid 80s.  Being a GenXer I was steeped in 70s pop-culture, mostly things like Star Wars and Star Trek.  That was my limited repertoir, as it were, floating in my memory banks.  So the first time I heard this song, I had this WTF moment during the chanting at the end.  If you are of a certain age, and this is the first time you’ve heard the song, you should have that same WTF reaction.  If you don’t then it means my brain works in mysterious ways.  So here’s the track, enjoy:

Are you stumped or do you have the connection in your head?  Either way, scroll down for what I was thinking.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Only now did I go look the song up on Wikipedia to find out that it was a chant from a football game, and because of the celtic accents, it sounded almost like it was coming from India like in Close Encounters.  But at some level you can’t deny the aural similarities, wouldn’t you say?

Yeah, I guess my brain works in mysterious way…

–othreviewer

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

